The Chronicle of the Oriole Island 7 (The End)

Chapter 7 Murong Qiang

Most of the people in the Murong family didn’t seem to remember the family motto, but I always remembered it.

There is no despair in the world, if there is no way to retreat, it is better to find another way.

My study room was originally built for Murong family’s master. When I first entered here, I wondered why this study was built on a cliff. If there was an invasion by an external enemy, the people in this room was going to have no choice to escape because it was blocked for the exiting.

One day, I discovered that there was  a secret tunnel under this room, which led the way to the sea. And, there were rafts, gold and silver jewellery, clothes and bedding, even some food and fruits. Recalling my Murong family, prospering for more than three hundred years, the ancestors were prepared to such a degree from the risk of lifelessness and the calamity. How respectful they were!

Dad said to me that if you wanted to be rescued from desperate situation, you had to be well-prepared.

When my father died that year, he gave me the jade which represented the sovereignty of the Murong Family, and he ordered me and my mother to move to the Oriole Island. At that time, I was ignorant and did not understand my dad’s implication. I just wanted to leave with my mother to escape from these insidious family people. When I came to the island, I saw my father’s subordinates of the old years. I knew that my father had prepared this long time ago, and he knew what would happen after he died. He had been quietly operating, transferring the private property of the Murong family to the outside of the family. Also, he set up the Shi’s trading company by his mother’s name, and ordered somebody to secretly run the company for him. The company belonged to the person with the jade. It was just that fate was hard to disobey. My father passed by before he set up every thing. However, this move still guaranteed my family good living condition.

Since I was young, I have seen the  warmth and coldness of this world, I had no such wisdom as my father did, but I understood the things in this world. If I wanted to hold it in my own hands, I must plan ahead and do everything that was available with all resource.

The Murong family treated me like I was nothing. But the name of this family had some uses. When the old-school ministers and aristocrats heard that Murong family, they always showed some respect. Although I was on the Oriole Island, I had never lost communication with the old party. In these days, the only thing I needed to do was showing my old-party style, and sometimes complained about my fate and how the family had been declined. Those old-style officers was going to feel the same, and they had sympathy toward us.

My uncle returned to his official position, and the Oriole Island was chosen as a transit island. It couldn’t be done without these old-party officers.

Although I have lived in a remote island for a long time, I had a clear score on the trend of the world. No matter which party was holding the capital city’s power, this trend was bound to be biased toward the new party. It was imperative to attract Western friends and get close to New Party members.

After a storm, I accidentally found a soldier who was on the rocky beach below the cliff. Outside sergeants go to the island without permission and must be disposed of by military law. I naturally know, but what was it with me? I wanted to call the islanders to lift him away at first, but I accidentally saw the necklace on his neck.

When Dad set up the Shi’s Trading Company, he also built an organization to receive information, and I was greatly benefited. Although I never left the island, I knew most of the situation in the world. It was an coincidence that I had seen this troubled man’s neck necklace.

The Jingwei Party, a newly formed party, mostly party members were young talents returning from overseas. Over time, the Jingwei Party was going to become the pillar of the new party, and the power of this party can’t be underestimated. The necklace with the laurel logo was the symbol of the Jingwei Party’s top management.

I didn’t know how the ordinary soldiers  linked up with the Jingwei Party, but as long as he was useful, I couldn’t let it go. I concealed the crowd and took him to a cave on the island to rest and heal.

Although the man was like an homeless guy, his eyes were sharp and his manners were very polite. I was more certain in my heart about it, and treated him more diligently.

In my free time, I didn’t seem to be introverted as usual, but I had praised many innovations of the new party, and I have shown great interest in openness to business from time to time. He showed admiration, but occasionally lost his thoughts.

At the time of parting, the man asked me, “You treat me like this, weren’t you afraid that I had bad intentions?”

I answered with a smile: “How many people in the world have such bad intentions? As long as we treat each other with sincerity, I believe you will not deceive me.” Besides, I had a Murong family’s dagger in my sleeve.

The man laughed, took off the necklace on his neck and gave it to me. He left afterwards

He didn’t say his name from start to the end, and I didn’t ask. Things in the world were difficult to predict. Even if I knew his name, there was going to be certain that he was going to help me; but if this person remembered the favor, he was going to come back. After all, the Oriole Island and Murong qiong couldn’t run away.

I took the necklace back to the house, tied it with my bird’s leg, and ordered someone to find a bird cage made by my dad, and put the bird in it.

If something was done, it might not be rewarded in a lifetime; but if it was not done, it will never be rewarded in a lifetime. I was never afraid to wait.

My younger sister was stubborn and arrogant. I hadn’t been close to her since she was a child, but I never refused what she asked for.

The younger sister wanted to find the best calligrapher to teach her how to write, and I invited Zhang Mingsheng from the capital city’s academy. He was actually a father’s subordinate who was in charge of the Shi’s Trading Company for many years. If I dared to call him, he would inevitably be suspected, but the waywardness of the little girl would give him an excuse to travel to the Oriole Island.

The little girl wanted to learn Western stuff, and I immediately invited western scholars to the Oriole Island. I had been self-taught about everything in the Western world, but if the young lady of the Murong family’s first lady invited the Western scholars, it was going to be weird. And, it was going to make the senior officials in the capital unhappy. But now, the younger sister wanted to invite foreign scholars. I seemed so eager to spoil my younger sister. The people in the world were not afraid of it. So, I just learned with my sister. Talking to these foreigners in their spare time made them impressed with the Oriole Island. In the future, when they encounter familiar trading vessels, they probably was going to guide ships to the Oriole Island to supplement supplies.

It was great to have such a wayward little girl in the family. Thanked to my little sister’s blessing, my Oriole Island had become more and more close to Westerners, but the people in the capital city thought that it was just a little girl’s pursuit of fashion in her spare time. The old-school people still had good friendship with me, and sometimes they felt more pity on me taking care of the housework, taking care of the younger sister, and they always comfort with good will.

The younger sister was getting older and more beautiful. Although growing up on the island, she had everything she needed. Her knowledge of western culture had impressed the capital city’s nobleman. Such a beautiful talent, if it was not used properly, it was a pity. So, I discussed with my mother and asked her to take my sister to the capital city.

I hadn’t been out of the island for many years. I knew that the Oriole Island was not a permanent place in my life, but I was not in a hurry. The elders of the Murong’s family had long desire the position of the suzerain, but they had long been unable to find the jade. If they knew that the jade was in my hands, I would be unscrupulous to win the battle. Shi’s trading company was still fledgling and still unable to fight against Murong’s people. What I needed now was a solid back up, and the shortcut to this back was the little girl.

Many days later, my mother returned to the island, and she looked tired. She said that she had not found a suitable husband’s for the younger sister this time. Although my sister was young and with beautiful appearance, plus the Murong family’s fame, it was not difficult to choose a good man for my sister, but to find someone who could support me, help me to achieve my goal, and take back everything that belongs to me, I have to think carefully.

At this time, Zhang Mingsheng proposed one person: Ren Shiqiong.

I had heard of this person. He had made great achievements in recent years and had gained a reputation in the capital city; he had returned to China recently. He was one of the new-reformers widely respected by the New Party. Such a person was indeed the best person to achieve my wish.

After I was determined, I asked Zhang Mingsheng to carefully plan the matter.

The little girl came back from the capital city, and suddenly she was eager to learn Western oil painting. She was active and interested in everything. I didn’t care much, so I asked to find an artist to do her teaching.

Who knew that this time she was very mischievous, I changed three teachers for her, and she was still not satisfied. I was angry, I felt something strange, so I sent people to inquire about various famous Western artists. Then, I knew Xu Zihui.

Xu Zihui, prodigal Xu Tong. He was said to be the best Western painter in the heavenly dynasty. Noble ladies in the capital city like him so much. That was extremely glorious if someone could have a painting of Xu Zihui. His paintings were hard to buy with money.

It was just an coincidence. The next day I took a walk on the island and saw a young man holding a drawing board and painting in a shade. Since the Oriole Island became a transit island, foreign merchants often passing by on the island. If it was weekdays, I would have turned around to avoid it, but that day, I just heard the legend of Xu Zihui, I was a little curious about all artists. So, I took some steps forward.

When I walked closer, I saw the painter’s drawing board and couldn’t help but look at it. Just because there was a carving of dragon dancing underneath the drawing board, it was unusually similar to Xu Zihui’s usual signature. Looking at the artist again, his eyes were bright, his lips were smiling, and he were wearing a Western sailor suit, but he was more personable and unrestrained. I already had a plan in my heart, and went forward to talk to the artist.

When I looked at the paintings in his hands, I was sure of the artist’s identity. It was just a sketch, but it showed the artist’s ingenuity and profound skills. No wonder his paintings were hard to buy. For many years on the Oriole Island, although I was holding the name of my family, I was a profitable businessman in my bones, knowing that this random graffiti would be valuable if it was secretly traded. I couldn’t help but figure out how to drag him on the island.

So I pretended not to know him, and talked about my younger sister, and asked Xu Zihui to teach her oil painting at Murong’s House. I heard that Xu Zihui had a strange temperament and moodiness. I thought it would take some twists and turns, but I didn’t expect that he promised so quickly. Although he only wanted to stay for another three days, it was enough for me.

If the young girl liked him, I know that she wasn’t going to let him go.

Every day afterwards, I always went to my sister’s study room in the afternoon to watch Xu Zihui’ paintings. After class, I carefully collect Xu Zihui’s graffiti drafts. But I didn’t know why, Xu Zihui always looked at me every time when I was in class. I started wondering, but then I thought that the famous painters were mostly quirky. Maybe It was because my ordinary appearance made him very uncomfortable? Fortunately, he was well maintained and did not say so in his words.

After three months, Xu Zihui came to resign. I knew that in his capacity, the prodigal son Xu Tong was going to stop too much in one place. Three months were already the limit, and mostly it was because of the younger sister. But thinking of the three month he stayed on the island, he didn’t even leave an oil painting on the island. I just felt unfortunate. Besides, he was funny and humorous. So, I asked him to stay longer again.

He seemed to be struggling for a long time, and finally agreed.

Lan’er suddenly said to me one day: “Miss, although I should not say something like this, but the younger lady seems to like Mr. Xu very much!”

I was startled, my heart could not help but hang. I had always been dumb in matters of men and women, and I saw nothing wrong with them. Although Xu Zihui had some bad reputation, he had always been polite in front of me. The little girl was lively and talkative. She and Xu Zihui were very intimate, but I thought that was normal. How… But when Lan’er mentioned it, I thought that if she was going to get married with Mr. Ren, I had to be careful. Although it was a pity, I had to ask him out of the Oriole Island.

Therefore, I often went to see Xu Zihui, watched him talk with my younger sister, painting and playing the piano. Although his attitude was close, he was more like an ordinary brother to my sister. With hindsight, what would happen if the two loved each other? Xu Zihui was not an unknown person. He wasn’t a wild man in the countryside. As long as I planed ahead, he could be considered as a way to go. In this way, the anxiety gradually faded.

Later, when Ren Shiqiong came to the island, Zhang Mingsheng finally played a role in the affair. The marriage between my sister and Mr. Ren was bound to be obtained. But when I heard the story of Ren Shiqiong returning the favor, I still couldn’t help smiling. Such a lame lie, I was afraid that only my mother would believe it.

When Ren Shiqiong met me for the first time, he looked miserable and didn’t even want to look at me. But he apparently fell in love with my younger girl at first sight. He spoke softly to my sister. I was very happy. Although this marriage was suspected of using my younger sister, it would be a beautiful thing if he treated my sister in this way.

After that, Ren Shiqiong often visited my sister on the island. In my eyes, I knew that the wedding was approaching, and I couldn’t help but secretly be happy. However, Ren Shiqiong seemed to be quite disgusted with me, and made sarcasm of me from time to time, which made me slightly uneasy. I had been mediocre since childhood, and I was not as enthusiastic and lively as my younger sister. But even so, ordinary men treat me with courtesy. I thought for a long time that I could not find the clue, so I had to give up.

In fact, I didn’t care how Ren Shiqiong treated me. I just worried if he was annoyed by me, and in the future, cooperating with Ren’s family might be influenced by this. Fortunately, he liked my sister so much. If the marriage was settled, I was going to show the Shi’s trading company as an Ace. With his father’s shrewdness, they would definitely help me. Thought of it this way, and I even less cared about the cynicism of Ren Shiqiong.

One day, Ren Shiqiong came to the island again, just when I was sitting in the front hall with Tiaotiao. This guy was sarcastic all the time to me, and it was even more out of control that day. When I was feeling puzzled, he looked at the oriole in the cage and said with resentment: “What the hell, you dare use such a vulgar name! “

I looked at him in the back and suddenly felt familiar. The little girl who was holding aside and asked, “Young girl, have you mentioned the name of the oriole with Mr. Ren?”

“No, Sister, what’s the matter?” The young girl answered with a naive look and smile.

I stopped talking, but the more I looked at the shape of this guy, the more confused I became.

Three months later, the Ren family sent a matchmaker to the island to propose a marriage, but the matchmaker was also confused, and she whispered that she would propose to an Miss from Murong family , but she did not know which lady it was. Fortunately, Ren Shiqiong’s attitude was well-known, so I agreed the marriage with my mother aside.

One night, my younger sister came to see me in the study room. She looked very different from usual. She stared at me for a long time and finally said, “Sister, I’m leaving.”

“Leaving? Where are you going? You are getting married in a few days, such nonsense!” I put down the book and reprimanded with a smile.

“Sister, I’m leaving with Brother Xu.”

As soon as I stayed, I saw the little girl take out a dagger: “Sister, I love Brother Xu, I don’t want to marry that Ren Shiqiong, if you don’t let me go, I will kill myself!”

I looked at the dagger in her hand, I really didn’t believe that she would do something terrible, and there was no snoring. But when I saw that her really stabbed the dagger into her heart, I was really surprised, I couldn’t help but exclaiming, ran forward to check. Her wound was very shallow. She just cut through the cuticle, and then I looked at the dagger, it was broken and historical.

I understood it, and snorted in my heart: This girl was just making a scene. If she really wanted to run away, she won’t come to tell me? Besides, Xu Zihui was not a stupid guy, he had a high reputation, how could he do such an action? I was afraid there was something else behind it. She had made up her mind that I would take care of them … If I hadn’t heard the news suddenly today, I wouldn’t agree with it anyway, but now …

I sighed and said, “In that case, you can leave. As long as you are happy, everything will be carried by me.”

Helping the younger sister and Xu Zihui left that night, I said to Xu Zihui, “Mr. Xu, I respect you and believe you will definitely treat my sister well.”

In fact, I knew that it may not be because of his personal affair that he helped my younger sister escape, but today, as Xu Zihui, he had to take care of the young girl very well. I heard that this person had traveled to various countries and knew overseas well. In the future… He could be a use probably.

But Xu Zihui twitched the corner of his mouth, suddenly held me in his arms, and said lowly, “Sorry!” Then he handed me a picture.

For some reason, I watched him leave, and my heart hurt. But there were things in the world that didn’t have to be explored so well. It was useless even if I think it more.

On the second day, Ren Shiqiong came to the island and I told him that my sister and Xu Zihui ran away and begged him to pardon.

He said that after ten days, Ren family would send someone to get me.

I was assured, my sister had no place in his heart. Otherwise he would definitely said that he will find them.

I had a letter on my chest saying that Ren Shiqiong was stationed in the Green Stone Island six years ago. He had encountered a storm and had not returned for three days.

There were some things in this world that seemed to be in dire straits, but as long as you prepared enough early, there was going to be countless roads open to you.

The day before I left the island, I asked Lan’er to pick up Tiaotiao and open the cage, and the necklace hanged on its leg well. I took it off and wrapped it around my wrist, and when I looked back, the bird was no longer there.

I still didn’t understand Ren Shiqiong’s weird behavior, but I know that as long as the necklace was in my hand, he would definitely help me fulfill my wish, which was enough already.

Note: This is the end of this short story. I think until you finish reading the last chapters, you only know what happened among these characters. This original novel was completed about 12 years ago, but it is still popular in China now. More and more read it and think this is a amazing story. I hope you have enjoyed a good time. And I will try to translate more favorite novels, please follow me.

Published by Little Monster

Webnovel lover. It will be nice if you like my translation.

10 thoughts on “The Chronicle of the Oriole Island 7 (The End)

  1. Thank you so much for translating this. Indee you cant understand it with reading it to the end.
    How could have imagined that she such an oblivious girl. I hope she can open her heart to her husband at least and him as well

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really beautiful, and thank you for the translation!

    Considering all of her carefulness, planning, and ability to handle the maneuvering of the island, I don’t think MRQ was oblivious at all! It seemed to me that she was used to setting aside her own desires for the continuation and prosper of the Murong family under her control. So it’s likely that she knew she had some feelings and attachment to the painter, but she wasn’t willing to pursue it or take him from her younger sister.

    Her approach to everything, including her own love/romance, can be summed up in the very beginning of the chapter: “There is no despair in the world, if there is no way to retreat, it is better to find another way.”

    Knowing that her younger sister liked the painter so much, MRQ was willing to step aside. Then her younger sister would be well taken care of, the painter would owe her a favor, and she would also be able to get the Ren family’s support towards getting back all the power and assets that were lost when her father died.

    She definitely knew what she was doing at the end since she took the necklace from the oriole bird and she knew Ren Shiqing wouldn’t treat her badly because she had rescued him in the past.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Thank you for sharing this lovely story with us. It’s so rare to find such an original plotline and even better, told in such interesting perspectives. I have been enlightened and look forward for any future translations you might decide to do.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you so much for the wonderful translation.This story have a quite a good twist. I hope she will grow to love him too. But I guess sometimes she just too clear head. I like the nice POV style of this story too. Tq

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wow. That was absolutely fantastic. Finished reading this at 1am and it’s now 3am and I’m still not over how beautifully written this was. Thank you so much for your wonderful translation of this incredible story. Stories like this make me appreciate more the translation work you do, because capturing such creativity and presenting it in another language isn’t easy. Thank you so much!!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started