The Chronicle of the Oriole Island 4

Chapter 4Xu Zihui

I remembered the woman’s indifferent face, and understood that Murong Wei was telling the truth. She was such a woman, it was heart-breaking, and it was… I never imagined that I would stay in one place for such a long time.

Seriously, in the beginning, it was just an accident to arrive at the Oriole Island.

One day, I was taking Peter’s boat to Guangyang. Suddenly I saw the first officer raised the flag and drove the boat to an island in the south.

“Peter, you bastard! Didn’t you say the ship is going to Guangyang? Where are you going now?” I jumped off the mast, rushed to where Peter stood, and pulled up his collar. Bastard, dare to trap me!

“Calm down,” he said with a smile on his face and raised his hands to surrender: “Aren’t you the most patient? There isn’t enough fuel. We are going to replenish the supply at the Oriole Island. “

“The Oriole Island? What is that place?” I let go of my hands, sitting on the deck chair with a big grin: “And you, anyway, have been doing business with our country for more than ten years, I really don’t understand how is your accent still weird? My ears hurt every time I listen to you! “

“Well, I will speak my language then.” Peter smiled and looked southward: “This Oriole Island is a new transit station on the sea in recent years, and merchant ships in the past often replenish fuel and fresh water here.”

“Oh~” I felt bored and turned my head, “This island looks a little bit of a oriole from the distance. I don’t know if there are any interesting places on this island, I’ll look for it and go to have some fun.”

“I heard that there is a ancestral house of a notable family on this island. It should be a good place.”

“Notable family? I’m sorry, but that has nothing to do with my life.” I shrugged and snorted.

“And the island owner here is a very interesting woman.”

“Woman? Beauty? Then I’m interested in it!” I touched my chin: “Miss Noble of the Oriole Island… It will be a good theme.”

Peter didn’t answer me, but just continued his treacherous grin and ordered the sailor to move at full speed.

In my life, I never expected that I would meet a noble lady on a barren island.

Really, at first, I thought I was just going to sketch.

This Oriole Island is indeed richer than I expected. The islanders are very different from those on the mainland, and it seems that many ancient customs still remain.

… Well, all the old customs are a group worship? I took the drawing board and thought of the legendary old mansion of the notable family on the mountain. There were seven or eight people who looked like villagers came out halfway, saying that it is the territory of the Murong family. You can’t enter; oh, you are going to paint, that’s even worse. The Murong family’s house is very honorable. Without the permission of the owner, ordinary artists can’t paint it.

How many years have the emperor’s New Deal been promulgated? Even the emperor’s summer palace allowed civilians to enter. How did the people of this island live in the old days?

Although I was swearing in my heart, the islanders were very simple and naive. They persisted in preventing me from entering. In the end, I had to hold the drawing board to leave. Fortunately, I found a shelter on the coast, and I could see Murong’s Mansion on the mountain in the distance. Peter didn’t lie to me. This is really a good place for sketching. I sat down and took out the charcoal to start drafting.

I didn’t know how long after that, there was an ethereal song in the air. I looked up in confusion, did Peter suddenly get so excited that he hummed my favorite piano song on this island? No, it’s a woman’s voice.

Following the voice, I saw a woman.

She wore a green and white dress, and her silky black hair draped freely, tied with a silver ribbon, walking slowly along the coast, with a quiet smile on her face, and she was humming a gently song. Was she beautiful? I didn’t know, seriously, I couldn’t find a word to describe her, because she was like an old-time woman in the wrong time. She should have walked around the lotus pond in the deep house courtyard, but the background was shifted to the sky and sea in an instant.

I thought if I didn’t paint this scene at this moment, then the art that I pursue in my life should be empty talk.

I didn’t know how long it had been already, some laughter came from overhead. As soon as I looked up, I saw the woman in the painting come out of the painting and stand beside me. I was frightened, and the charcoal pencil was almost off my hands.

“This gentleman, I didn’t mean to disturb you intentionally.” When she saw my horrified expression, she immediately explained: “It’s just that there has never been a painter on this island. I’m curious what the Oriole island looks like in your paintings.”

My mind was even more confused. Shouldn’t this woman scream softly when she saw a man stealthily paint her and then leave? How could she come forward and talk to me freely?

When she saw me stare at her silently, she could not help but coughed, and two red clouds appeared on her cheek. When she saw me, she continued to ask, “This painting is drew in western sketching technique?”

My dear, this was so interesting! On this uncivilized island, there was a woman who seems to walk out from ancient painting, discussing western sketches with me?

“It’s really a western sketch. I don’t know how the lady know that?” I cleared my throat, narrowed my smile, and answered with a serious face.

“Is it really a sketch?” She showed surprise: “Honestly, a foreign missionary had been on the island a few years ago and taught my little sister some superficial western knowledge. This sketch was also mentioned by him.”

“Xu Zihui, Xu Zihui! How did you come here, it’s so hard to find you. The boat is about to sail!” I was about to answer, Peter rushed from the other side of the island, “You are not going to paint the ancient house on that mountain? “

I scolded him for the shameless scenery, but there was a beauty around me , and I could only breathe a long time and replied in Peter’s mother language: “The fools on this island will not let me go up the mountain, saying that the ancient house on the mountain is very holly.”

“Really?” The woman next to me suddenly said in Peter’s mother language: “That’s my fault, but the islanders are also loyal, please pardon them.”

Peter started noticing the woman next to me. He looked at her and saluted  in silence and then look at me again, a strange smile suddenly appeared on his face: “Xu Zihui, this is the owner of the Oriole Island.”

My face froze, and I saw the woman put her hands on her chest, bowed gently to me, and smiled: “Mr. Xu, I’m Murong Qiang, the owner of the Oriole Island.”

In my life, I never thought that I would teach a little girl to practice painting on an island.

Seriously, at first, I was just perfunctory because of curiosity.

I lived twenty-six years, not too old, but I’ve seen many people since I was young; I didn’t dare to say that I’ve traveled around the whole world by myself, but I’ve been to many places.

I have seen a lot of ladies and gentlemen in the capital, but there are only two kinds of people: those who are older and still wear old clothes, and their thoughts and actions are like decaying wood; younger people walk around in foreign clothes every day. They think they know a lot about foreign countries. However, they know nothing about sketching, let alone speaking foreign language.

Fortunately, the existence of these women has made my life sustainable. These women hang a piece of my works at home to remind them of their identity, but the old women are proud of taking my paintings as their scourge target.

Dealing with these two type of women was too simple.

Fortunately, I actually see a woman who is not in the two types today.

“Mr. Xu, you know how to draw, but what about western oil painting?” Murong Qiang asked me respectfully.

Ah? It turned out that there was still a noble lady who didn’t know me in this dynasty? Great!

“Slightly involved, not proficient.” I answered with a smile. At the same time, I stopped Peter’s doubtful expression.

“Mr. Xu is too humble. I have a young sister, 16 years old, admiring western painting skills for a long time. I wonder if Mr. Xu can stay here for a few days and teach her a little bit painting skills?” The woman still looked sincere.

No way? Ask me to teach a little girl to draw? Was this world making fun of me? Before I said no, I heard Peter laugh aside, “Island owner, my friend is about to rush to Guangyang. The Oriole Island is only our temporarily parking lot, so it is difficult to stay long.”

You dead man, no one treats you as a dumb if you shut your mouth! I glanced at him and continued to maintain my best demeanor. I said, “Nevertheless, it would be ungracious not to accept your invitation. Besides, I really want to go to Murong’s mansion to have a look… I will stay here for three more days! “

“Thank you, Mr. Xu! I will be waiting for you at the mansion tomorrow at 7:00 p.m..” She was overjoyed. When she raised her eyes, I noticed that her smiling eyes were full of radiance and brightness, and I couldn’t help to resist it but stunned, and suddenly the words of “most unusual and quite individual beauty” flashed in my mind.

She looked at the drawing in my hand and opened her mouth again: “Mr. Xu, my sister has always been arrogant and wild, and it’s hard to stay for a long time if she doesn’t really respect you. I don’t know if I can take this drawing as an proof and convince her? “

If it was before, I would sneer at such request, but today, god knows why I hand the drawing to her.

After Murong Qiang left, Peter hummed suddenly and said, “You’re done!”

“What do you mean?” I frowned.

The bastard gave me an oblique glance: “I don’t want to tell you!” He waved at me as he walked: “I’ll come to pick you up after three months.”

“Are you deaf? I said three days later!” I growled.

“Well… I’ll pick you up after three months.”

In my life, I never thought that I would be fascinated by other things except painting.

Seriously, at first, I just wanted to teach a little girl to paint.

When I arrived at Murong’s mansion on the top of the mountain the next day, no one stopped me again. When I met the islanders, some people retreated to the side of the road and bowed to salute. This Oriole island was really very simple, but it was too far away from the times!

When I came to the top of the mountain, I found that Murong’s mansion was different from other places. It had neither a main gate nor a fence. There was no gatekeeper. The islanders of the Oriole Island are all owned by Murong’s family. Being surrounded by the sea on all sides is the best barrier, why bother repairing that useless fence to ruin the beautiful scenery. When I reached the top of the mountain, I see a small courtyard, there was a large blue and white urn gold porcelain crock and planted with a few leaves of lotus flowers, and a few lovely koi carps waft in the water.

I looked around and found that Murong Mansion’s architecture was very old fashioned. The eaves stone carvings and the blue pillars were all in the style of more than a hundred years ago. I forgot I was on an isolated island. It seemed that I entered the door of the dynasty’s officers’ house. I looked down at my clothes, and was grateful that I bought some old clothes from the islanders yesterday, otherwise it would be funny to come to this place in that narrow-sleeved foreign dress.

As I was thinking, a woman suddenly stepped out of the veranda and seemed to be astonished as she saw me stand in the courtyard. She only applied a little powder on her face and wore a pink tutu skirt. Her hands folded into her sleeves, and she was very cute. At that time, her eyes were round, and her lips were slightly open. She stared at me like an wood sculpture, and I couldn’t help but smiled lightly: The girls on the this island must rarely see male from the outside, and that’s why she reacted like this!

Seeing that she still reminded silence, I began to open my mouth: “I’m Xu Zihui, the lady from the Murong family invited me to teach painting in the house. Can you brief for me?”

She seemed to return her mind, while she was waiting for a reply, she heard a gentle laughter from the other side: “Sorry for the waiting, Mr. Xu, the Oriole Island is a vulgar place, please pardon my maid. “

I looked up, Murong Qiang came with a smile, she still wore a white dress with blue robes, but the style was slightly different from yesterday. She looked at me and suddenly covered her mouth and smiled, “Your dress today is very different from yesterday …”

I was a little embarrassed. On Peter’s boat yesterday, I picked up a sailor’s clothes and walked around the island. It’s really a big difference compared to today. All I could say was: “ A guest must do as his host does, and I can’t wear too casually. “

She smiled slightly and said, “You don’t have to do this.” Then she called the maid stood on the side: “Lan’er, take Mr. Xu to the study room.”

Then she turned her face to me again: “My sister is a young and a little naughty, please pardon her. If you have any request, please let me know. I will try my best to help you. However, I still have something to deal with, excuse myself.”

What? Why are you leaving? I watched Murong Qiang give a salute and then left, I was taken by surprise and lost my mind in an instant.

When I saw Murong Wei, I knew the meaning of Murong Qiang’s smile.

This study room was very different from the courtyard of the Murong Mansion. Stained-glass windows, enamel-set clocks, and all-in-one western style furniture, there was even a piano in the corner of the room! I looked at the younger lady in a red dress sitting at the table, and realized that the dress I changed today was quite meaningless to Murong Qiang. I secretly felt annoyed that I didn’t notice Murong Wei’s curious look at me.

Suddenly I heard Murong Wei said to the maid, “You all can leave now. I don’t want to be disturbed when I study painting.” Her voice with a sense of willfulness and pride was very different from Murong Qiang.

I looked at her and had to admit that she was very beautiful, but this beauty was too sharp and attractive, with a strange stress, which was addictive but suffocating. As an artist, I admire this beauty, but as a man, I instinctively wanted to get rid of the danger brought by this beauty.

But in fact, she was still a child, because at this time she was walking towards me with a prank-like smile.

“Hey, how should I call you?” She gently walked toward me like a cat: “Mr. Xu Zihui, or … well, prodigal Xu Tong?”

“You … how do you know!” I almost collapsed from the chair.

“You’re so famous…” She pouted: “Every time I go to the capital, I have to listen to people mention you, how can I not know you? I remember that the second lady of Minister of Rituals  had scratched the face of the princess Nanping for you. “

“So, when my sister brought the painting and I knew it was you at first glance. Everyone’s home was hung with your paintings. How can I not recognize your brushwork?”

“So … then your elder sister knows who I am?” My hand trembled slightly, that gentle and sincere woman…

“My sister? How could she know who you are?” She stared at my hand, “My sister has locked herself on this island all her life, her mind was like it’s in a hundred years ago! Besides, all the things my sister know about the capital city were told by me. She probably thought you were some poor painter passing by. “

I calmed down, but found a more terrible fact, when did I start to care so much about a woman’s thoughts? Wear her favorite clothes, put on her favorite temperament, worry about her deception, and love the moments with her… Ah ah ah, I must be crazy, I only meet her for the first time yesterday!

Murong Wei saw that I was silent, and a little devil-like smile appeared on her face: “Of course, if you want to let my sister know your identity, it is very simple.”

She walked quickly to the door and shouted, “Sister! This Mr. Xu is actually …”

“Hey! You!” I rushed behind her, covering her mouth with my hand: “Say, what are the conditions?”

“You’re so smart, no wonder they like you.” She leaned into my arms and raised her head with a charming smile, “My sister said you only stay for three days, isn’t it? No, you have to stay until I learned your color technique, haha, after they know that you have been my teacher once, they will be very angry! “

In my life, I never thought that loving someone is such a pain.

At first, I thought it was good just to look at that person quietly.

Every afternoon, Murong Qiang will always came to the study room, watching how I taught Murong Wei painting. Murong Wei is a clever child. I didn’t know if it was because of vanity or anything else, she studied hard.

As soon as I had a class in the room, I could see Murong Qiang as long as I tilted my head. She sat there quietly with a steady and quiet smile, and the sunlight came in from the window, forming different shades on her face, which gave that face a strange temptation.

I only turned around to see her once in a while, but then I seemed to be attracted by something and couldn’t help looking back over and over again. At a certain moment, I was shocked to be such rude, because her eyes were no longer calm, but she was amazed. I hurriedly lowered my head, but still couldn’t help but secretly outline her silhouette from the corner of my eye.

Day after day, three months had passed.

There will be no result, this sweet torment was going to make me crazy.

I should leave, I am leaving now, I have to leave.

For half a day, I finally walked into Murong Qiang’s study room. I expected how she would write at the desk, but I didn’t expect that she was holding a fancy black bird cage with a a smile and teasing the lively oriole in it. The expression was so relaxing and cozy, so different from the one I saw in the past, but so lovable.

“Mr. Xu?” She was a little surprised for my arrival, then calmed down to put down the bird cage, and walked toward me with a smile: “Is there anything wrong?”

Looking at her unchanging smile, I had a pain in my chest. I’m afraid that I’m worse than an oriole in her mind.

“Island owner, I have been harassing on the island for a long time. Now that the second lady has mastered the painting skills, is it time for me to leave?”

“You want to go?” Her eyes darkened. “Why is Mr. Xu in a such hurry… Is it because the we didn’t take good care of you?”

“No…”

“So Mr. Xu has something urgent to deal with?”

“no……”

“Can I implore you to stay a few more days … I …” She looked anxiously and about to speak, but saying nothing.

“That… then I have to bother you for a few days more.” Seeing her embarrassed expression, I was ecstatic, and promised her.

“You’re done.” Peter went back to the Oriole Island again and said this sentence again.

“Yes, I’m done.” I fell into Murong Qiang’s gentle eyes and was doomed eternally.

“You will regret.” Peter sighed.

“No……”

“You will. You are a goshawk that will fly across the world. This Oriole Island will never be your destination.”

Peter left. I returned to the room and picked up the paintbrush.

“Brother Xu, tell me more about your story on the sea!” Murong Wei ran in from the outside and laughed cheerfully.

“Forget it today, I’m a bit tired.”

“This… what is this?” She looked at the painting in front of me in confusion: “Is this my sister, right? Well, this is my sister’s birdcage! Brother Xu, you are so amazing. It’s  as natural as though it were living! “

The little girl stared at me with admiration, whispering about her elder sister and that strange birdcage.

Suddenly, she said softly: “Brother Xu, I’m worried about my sister.”

“Why?”

“Sometimes I think my sister is like an oriole in that bird cage, trapped on this island.”

“If she wants to leave, who can stop her?”

“Her heart has been caged, and she has been trapped in the Oriole Island all her life, locked in Murong family!”

The brush in my hand rolled down.

“I don’t want to be like her. I want to leave here. The outside world is waiting for me. Even if I love my sister and she also loves me, I will definitely leave one day.” She raised her head as if making a wish to the Heaven.

Her words hit me like a hammer over and over again.

I understood right now. Murong Qiang and I were destined when we first met. No matter how much I love her, no matter whether she loves me or not.

One day, there will be a person living with her on this island, and I will roam freely all over the world alone.

In my life, I never thought to be related to the term: abductor.

Seriously, at first, I just wished she will be happy.

I was still painting that picture because I knew I was going to leave one day.

A man came to the island one day, Ren Shiqiong.

I know him, and he is one of the men that Guanyang’s women love to talk about: handsome, wealthy, and promising.

He knew me as well. When he saw me on this island, he only raised his eyebrows slightly, and said nothing.

People on the island said that he fell in love with Murong Wei at first sight.

I believed. Murong Wei was smart and beautiful. She deserves driving men crazy.

Every day, Murong Wei still came to me, holding my arm to ask me to tell outside stories; holding my pen and asking me to draw for her.

Her sister also often came to here, she seemed to be a little worried, maybe because I am too close to Murong Wei, or maybe… no, I couldn’t think it in that way.

I loved these days. She would sit there and watch me and Murong Wei talk quietly, or carefully collect each of my drafts. Sometimes, under Murong Wei’s request, she would also play a piano song (I knew she could play because of that), she didn’t play as well as her younger sister, maybe she didn’t have much time to practice, but for me it was like the music from heaven.

Sometimes I met Ren Shiqiong on the island, he was so deserted, but his eyes leak a man’s jealousy.

I smiled bitterly in my heart, the person I loved was not the one you think. You didn’t have to do that.

Who knows, later he really had enough reasons to hate me.

One day, Murong Wei settled down with Ren Shiqiong.

“Brother Xu, take me away!” Several nights later, Murong Wei broke into my room like a flame.

“Where to go?” I looked at her excited expression and felt confused.

“Outside, wherever you want, as long as it’s not the Oriole Island!”

“Oh~ Are you going to elope with me?” I laughed, she was really a child.

“Elopement? Huh, don’t think it that way, I don’t like you at all.” Her eyes seemed to be fire.

“Good girl, don’t do this.” I sighed: “Ren Shiqiong is a good man, not to mention that your sister will be sad if you leave.”

“I would rather hope she is sad than turn her into an monk!”

“What you mean?” My heart twitched, grabbing her hand hard.

“I secretly listened to what my mother and sister said that Murong family’s most important rule is about the difference between esteem and inferiority and the order between younger and elder. Because I settled down with Ren family, which breaks the rule that younger sister must not marry first. The elders in capital city oppose this marriage and demand a divorce. “

“So what? Isn’t it your intention?”

“But my sister said that marriage can’t be withdrawn. If it is necessary to abide by this rule, it means that the eldest daughter is willing to become a monk, and she is accompanied by the ancient Buddha. Then it is understandable that the young girl marry first.”

“It’s ridiculous that there is such a vulgarity now!”

“Notable family is always with some stupid and absurd rules.” Murong Wei said with a grudge: “Brother Xu, I know my elder sister, as long as it is for the Oriole Island and me, she will do anything. “

Heartbroken.

“My sister loved me the most since I was a child. If I say we love each other, she will try her best to help me. Once I run away, this marriage will end up, there is no absurd ethics, and my sister don’t have to be a nun!” Murong Wei looked at me and continued to talk about her plans.

After a long time, I squeezed her face: “I have done a lot of ridiculous things in my life, but compared to this, it is nothing … okay, I will take you away! Think of that stinky face of Ren Shiqiang. It’s also fun, hahaha! “

That night we were going to leave, she came.

Her face was pale, but her eyes were very bright. She gave a salute to me and said softly, “Mr. Xu, I respect you and believe that you will definitely treat my younger sister well… Please take care of yourselves.”

I gazed at her and finally couldn’t help but embraced her and sighed softly in her ear: “Sorry…”

I let her go and handed the painting in her hand. I grinned and turned back to leave.

I had never asked her if she loved me, nor did I think that leaving with Murong Wei had really affected her.

I am very selfish.

I knew that I was destined to leave her. The “elopement” only made me and her life more fettered, and made her remember me.

It was just like that.

Published by Little Monster

Webnovel lover. It will be nice if you like my translation.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started